Friday, March 03, 2006

New today at eMusic.

A couple of pretty good releases from UK bands were added today.

First off is the self-titled release from the Irish band Turn. This one is highly catchy and melodic, with the standout tracks being "It's About Nothing" and "Sorry's Just a Word". I hadn't listened to this one for a few months, but when reviewing the samples, quite a few of the tunes came back to me, a good sign. You can stream a few tracks from this one (as well as a few from their previous releases) in full at their site.

The other is a 2003 release from Minibar, Fly Below The Radar. Of course, that was exactly what this release did. Nevertheless, it's quite a solid one; Minibar may be British, but they have an American roots rock sound to them, in the vein of The Wallflowers (two of whom produced a few of the tracks), Counting Crows and Tom Petty. Apparently Pete Yorn and Jakob Dylan are big fans of the band as well.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Yum! Two more tasty CDs for my wish list. Thanks again for a great blog, Steve. Great resource. I stop here first these days when I'm hungry for new stuff.